The Wellington Theatre Awards were held at Te Whaea on Sunday night. Hosted by James Nokise with support from Allan Henry and music provided by Hayley Sproull it was an evening celebrating the last year of professional theatre in Wellington.

Linda Wilson from Circa Theatre was recognised for her contribution to Wellington theatre with the Mayor’s Award for Service to Theatre. She has fulfilled almost every role needed for a production and in running a theatre. Wilson accepted the award ‘on behalf of the people backstage’ who are not eligible for the regular theatre awards yet also important to their success. Barbarian Productions were awarded the Judges Wildcard for their ‘high quality and inventive performance that inspires many other practitioners and their enormous generosity and the investment in the arts community and the wider Wellington community.’

Congratulations to all the nominees, winners, and supporters for a great year of theatre!


Wellington theatre awards winners list 2016

Judges wildcard – Barbarian Productions
Mayor’s Award for Service to Theatre – Linda Wilson
Most promising male newcomer Tom Clarke, The Devil’s Half-Acre

Most promising female newcomer Susie Berry, Jekyll and Hyde

The George Webby most promising new director of the year – Stella Reid, Orphans

The Peter Harcourt outstanding new playwright of the year – Carrie Green, Man Parts

Lighting designer of the year – Rachel Marlow, Dust Pilgrim

Set designer of the year – Poppy Serano, Dust Pilgrim

The Paul Jenden costume designer of the year – Sopheak Seng, The Vultures

Sound Designer of the year – Oliver Devlin, The Seven Sons of Supparath

The Constance Scott Kirkaldie award for outstanding composer of music – Hayley Sproull, Vanilla Miraka

Absolutely positively most original production of the year – A Trial – Barbarian Productions and Binge Culture Collective

Outstanding new New Zealand play of the yearRob Mokaraka, Shot Bro

Supporting actor of the year – Andrew Paterson, Orphans

Supporting actress of the year – Anya Tate-Manning, Hudson and Halls Live

The Richard Campion accolade for outstanding performance – Rob Mokaraka, Shot Bro
The Grant Tilly actor of the year – Chris Parker, Hudson and Halls Live
The Dorothy McKegg actress of the year – Hayley Sproull, Vanilla Miraka

Director of the year – Kip Chapman, Hudson and Halls Live

Production of the year – Hudson and Halls Live – Silo Theatre